When We Were Silent

Discover the dark boarding school psychological thriller, an exploration of power, corruption and retribution, perfect for fans of Girl A, My Dark Vanessa and Anatomy of a Scandal. 'Utterly amazing . . . Powerful, moving, enraging' Marian Keyes, Sun
Publisher:
Availability: In stock
ISBN: 9781787637382
AuthorFiona McPhillips
$21.45
Ship to
*
*
Shipping Method
Name
Estimated Delivery
Price
No shipping options
Discover the dark boarding school psychological thriller, an exploration of power, corruption and retribution, perfect for fans of Girl A, My Dark Vanessa and Anatomy of a Scandal. 'Utterly amazing . . . Powerful, moving, enraging' Marian Keyes, Sunday Times bestselling author of Rachel's Holiday 'One of the most compelling books I've ever read...compulsive, tender and chilling' Jessica Bull, author of Miss Austen Investigates 'A powerful, unforgettable read' Andrea Mara, bestselling author of No One Saw A Thing _ "I'm not here for prestige. I'm here for revenge." Lou Manson is an outsider when she joins the final-year class at Highfield Manor, Dublin's most exclusive private school. Beyond the granite pillars and the wrought-iron gates is a world of wealth, privilege and potential. But Highfield is also hiding a dark secret - and Lou is here to expose it. When she befriends the beautiful and talented Shauna Power, her plans are thrown into turmoil. Speaking out against the school would mean betraying Shauna, and Lou soon discovers that the Highfield elite will go to any lengths to protect their own reputation . . . . . . Even when the consequences are fatal. Thirty years later, Lou is called to testify in a new lawsuit against Highfield. But telling the truth means confronting her past. And there is one story she swore she'd never tell . . . _ Praise for When We Were Silent: 'I love a great literary psychological drama. I devoured Fiona McPhillips's debut, a lovechild of Tana French and Patricia Highsmith, but also totally original. Absolutely brilliant!' John Boyne, bestselling author of The Heart's Invisible Furies 'A twisting, turning dive into a web of long-buried secrets' Jane Harper, internationally bestselling author of Exiles 'This book absolutely nails what it feels like to be young, female, powerless, and dead set on redemption' Julia Heaberlin, author of We Are All The Same in the Dark 'This suspenseful novel perfectly captures teenage intensity and anguish' Guardian 'Tense and unsettling' New York Times 'Taut, compelling, powerful and devastatingly relevant' Louise O'Neill, bestselling author of Idol 'Full of twists, turns and dark secrets' Reader review 'A beautifully written, compulsive read' Reader review 'Secrets, scandal, elitism, lies, memories, abuse, love, loss . . . This book has it all' Reader review